Stinkin’ Thinkin’

negative positive

It was just days before I started my new gig and I’m chopping it up with a dear friend about all my goals and plans. The sky is the limit as far as I was concerned.  She could barely get a word in edgewise.  I was overly excited and needed to get it all out.  I didn’t want to forget anything.

Once I was done with all my plans, deadlines and stats for myself, she flatly asks, “But what happens if there’s a month when you can’t help anyone?”  The question hung on the line while a Dora Explorer blank stare occupied my face.  There was awkward silence. Not being able to help a single person NEVER occurred to me.  She was asking me about crash and burn when my only options were exceed expectations or blow it completely out the water. My friend had no malicious intent, just stinkin’ thinkin’.

That conversation made me wonder: How often do we catch stinkin’ thinkin’?  How often has that stinkin’ thinkin’ caused a drop of percentage off  listings or caused paralysis when it came to picking up the phone for a follow-up on a FSBO or expired?

Watch your thoughts when it comes to your business.  As a man thinketh in his heart so is he, or something like that.

If you think you are beaten, you are
If you think you dare not, you don’t,
If you like to win, but you think you can’t
It is almost certain you won’t.

If you think you’ll lose, you’re lost
For out of the world we find,
Success begins with a fellow’s will
It’s all in the state of mind.

If you think you are outclassed, you are
You’ve got to think high to rise,
You’ve got to be sure of yourself before
You can ever win a prize.

Life’s battles don’t always go
To the stronger or faster man,
But soon or late the man who wins
Is the man WHO THINKS HE CAN!

-Anonymous

 

 

 

